Catch up on all the latest news and match reports.... 

Best of luck to Offaly seniors

posted 17 Jan 2020, 01:09 by Edenderry GAA

Offaly senior footballers take on Longford on Saturday at 2.45pm in Bord Na Mona O'Connor Park as the faithful county bid to win their 7th ever O'Byrne Cup.

Offaly last won the competition when they put back to back titles in 1997 & 1998 overcoming Wexford 4-13 0-5 and Louth 4-7 2-7 respectively. 

It is only the second time these two counties will meet in the final with Offaly overcoming Longford in the 1961 final 1-9 0-6, Edenderry's legendary duo Mick Brady and Tommy Cullen staring at centre back and left half forward on that occasion.

This Saturday the reds will be represented by Jordan Hayes, Cian Farrell and Mark Abbott while '93, '97 & '98 O'Byrne Cup winner Kevin Guing forms part of John Maughan's management team.

Best of luck to all involved.

Oakland's defeat Killina at Weavers Fields

posted 16 Jan 2020, 00:23 by Edenderry GAA

Well done to the senior footballers of Oakland's college who they defeated a gallant Killina SS on a scoreline of 3-11 to 3-3 in what were very difficult conditions on Tuesday afternoon.

Cian Farrell named on Sigerson team of the week.

posted 14 Jan 2020, 01:21 by Edenderry GAA

Congratulations to Edenderry senior footballer and Offaly U20 footballer of the year Cian Farrell who was named on the Sigerson cup team of the week after scoring 1-6 for Carlow IT on Sunday.

No photo description available.

Lotto update

posted 13 Jan 2020, 00:05 by Edenderry GAA

Image result for lotto

1, 3, 13, 14, 5

There was no winner of the lotto jackpot at this week's draw so next week's jackpot will be €7200.

Five players matched 3 numbers and won €40 each. they were

Patrick Larkin Club Red 300
Sean Farrell Derries
Rachel Brennan Ticknevin
Sharon Cooney c/o bingo
Josie Maher c/o bingo

Offaly reach O'Byrne Cup final

posted 12 Jan 2020, 11:30 by Edenderry GAA   [ updated 17 Jan 2020, 01:01 ]

Offaly have reached their first O'Byrne cup final since 2006 after defeating Westmeath in Bord Na Mona O'Connor Park on Saturday afternoon. They play Longford on Saturday at 2pm in the final.

Representing Edenderry was Jordan Hayes (0-2), Cian Farrell (0-2), Mark Abbott and Kevin Guing (management).

Best of luck to Offaly in the final as they bid to land their first O'Byrne cup since 1998, a team Kevin Guing was part of as he collected the last of his 3 O'Byrne cup medals alongside legendary Edenderry footballers Finbarr Cullen and Peter Brady.

1991 U16 camogie shield champions - A trip down memory lane

posted 10 Jan 2020, 01:41 by Edenderry GAA

Camogie returns to Edenderry GAA in 2020 for the first time in over twenty years and coaching is well underway with our GPO Mairead Daly.

We take a trip down memory lane as we remember the U16 camogie team that won the shield in 1991 following a 23 point victory over Ferbane in Birr.

In July after beating Tullamore in the first round the U16 girls easily accounted for Birr 6-7 1-3. Fiona Farrell with 3-6 was their star with Mairead Holt scoring 1-1 and a goal a piece by Georgina Grattan and Philomena Brennan. Ferbane was next to fall as the girls won 4-3 to 2-2.

Fiona Farrell again proved her worth scoring 2-3 while Neasa Cullen and Reidin Dunne each scored a goal. Others to impress were Philomena Brennan, Karen Warren, Deirdre Farrell, Deirdre Wall, Karen and Pauline Forde.

The final was against Ferbane in Birr and having played with the wind and rain in the first half they led 3-1 0-1 ahead.

But the expected Ferbane revival did not happen and the girls ran our easy winners 7-3 to 0-1 with all their scores coming from Fiona Farrell 4-3 and Gillian Cribben 3-0.

Karen Forde, Diane Connolly, Karen Warren, Pauline Forde, Deirdre Wall, Philomena Brennan (Capt), Mairead Holt, Neasa Cullen, Linda Moore, Fiona Farrell, Gillian Cribben, Georgina Grattan.

Subs: Deirdre Farrell, Christine O'Connor, Redin Dunne.

Edenderry to enter junior hurling team in 2020

posted 9 Jan 2020, 03:00 by Edenderry GAA

Edenderry GAA are delighted to announce that at the first Executive Committee meeting of the year on January 8th, it was confirmed that the club would field a junior hurling team in 2020.

The reds last won hurling silverware with back to back U16 'C' titles in 2016 and 2017 and were beaten in the minor 'B' final in 2017.

Cormac Nolan, James Merrick and Liam Kennedy will train the team and a players meeting will be held in the coming weeks.

The club are more than happy to accommodate players from surrounding clubs which do not play hurling. Please contact David (086-8668646), Keith (087-2268612) or Colm (087-7638181) before Sunday January 12th.

Operation Transformation

posted 7 Jan 2020, 01:34 by Edenderry GAA

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, standing and text

Operation Transformation are filming in Edenderry this Saturday!
It’s the Adbreak challenge and it’s a really fantastic opportunity to showcase our town once again as they have a really massive audience! We need to get the word out far and wide to make sure we have a big crowd to give them a warm welcome! Birr had a massive crowd so we want to make Edenderry bigger!!! Please share to get the word out

Offaly to face Westmeath in O'Byrne Cup semi final

posted 6 Jan 2020, 00:33 by Edenderry GAA

Offaly will face Westmeath in the O’Byrne Cup semi-finals after both sides came through their respective Round 3 clashes in the competition this afternoon.

John Maughan’s Offaly side were 2-12 to 1-7 winners over Wexford at Faithful Fields, where Cian Johnson and Conor McNamee netted two quick goals in the run up to half-time for the hosts.

The Faithful County had led by 0-6 to 0-2 when Mick Foley fired in a goal for the Model men but his effort was cancelled out on the double as the scoreboard read 2-6 to 1-4 in the home side’s favour at half-time.

Bernard Allen’s frees kept the scores ticking over for Maughan’s men as they heaped another early defeat on Paul Galvin's Slaneysiders and marched into the last four.

Lotto update

posted 6 Jan 2020, 00:29 by Edenderry GAA

Image result for lotto

7,8,12,18 - 5

There was no winner of the lotto jackpot at this week's draw so next week's jackpot will be €7,100.

Six players matched 3 numbers and won €70 each. They were

Kevin Guing
James and Eilis Kearney
Martin and Cathy Kearney
Michael Corcoran
Elizabeth Lally
Marie Lynch

1-10 of 1733