News‎ > ‎

Minor ladies reach county final

posted 22 Oct 2012, 03:55 by Edenderry GAA

Minor Semi-Final V Ferbane

Edenderry Minor Ladies booked their place in this year’s final after a hard fought win over Ferbane played in Daingean on Sunday morning. This was a game of two halves with Edenderry dominating the first period. Corner forward Roisin Hurley kicked four unanswered points after great support play from Ciara O’Connor, Shannon Farrell Ciara Brady, Megan Moore, Emma Murphy and Kym Furey. Goalkeeper Isobel Leddin denied Ferbane a certain goal with a spectacular save. Claire  Connolly kicked a fine point from play.  The defence led by Shauna Farrelly, Danielle Kavanagh, Jennifer Flynn, Becky Gorman stood firm and on the stroke of half time Shannon Farrell hit the back of the net and at the break the Ferbane girls went in trailing on a scoreline of 2-7 to 1-1.

Second Half:

The second period began with the Edenderry girls full of determination and raced into a commanding lead.  Kym Furey, Shannon Farrell and Megan Moore kicked some fine scores. Ferbane piled on the pressure on the Edenderry goalmouth and slowly began to get themselves back into the game. They hit goal after goal and with five minutes remaining three points separated the teams. What a final few minutes with both teams giving it their all. Ferbane kicked a fine point and went in search of a winning goal. The Edenderry girls were not to be denied with great blocks by Emma Brady, Shauna Farrelly, Niamh O’Connor and held on to win on a scoreline of 5-10 to 6.5.  This was an outstanding team performance and credit goes to all the team panel for their efforts. They now take on hot favourites St. Ryanghs on Saturday at 3pm. Venue to be confirmed.

Team Panel & Scorers:

Isobel Leddin, Jennifer Flynn, Shauna Farrelly, Emma Brady, Danielle Kavanagh, Ciara O’Connor, Becky Gorman, Niamh O’Connor, Shannon Farrell(2-1), Ciara Brady, Claire Connolly(0-1), Megan Moore(-1), Roisin Hurley(0-5), Kym Furey(3-2), Emma Murphy, Kim Murphy, Sarah Lawton, Laura Leech, Sarah Cummins, Hazel O’Brien, Nicole Farrelly