News‎ > ‎

Juniors draw with Daingean

posted 19 Mar 2012, 09:45 by Edenderry GAA   [ updated 20 Mar 2012, 03:45 ]

Division 3 result:
Edenderry 2-2 1-5 Daingean

Edenderry juniors claimed a point in their fourth outing of the 2012 Division three league but this was certainly a game neither side deserved to win such was the poor standard. The biggest cheer of the day was when referee Martin Carthy blew the final whistle.

Edenderry opened the scoring in the third minute with a well taken free from Jamie Dolan but Daingean hit back two minutes later with a pointed free of their own,

In the ninth minute Daniel Ryan latched on to a loose ball and shot high into the Daingean net to give Edenderry a three point lead after some assists from Sean Og Farrell and John Gorman. In the fourteenth minute Daingean got their second point of the game but Edenderry appeared to be cruising when John Gorman cleverly tucked his shot away to the back of the net and stretched the reds lead to five points, Stephen Murphy and Dan Ryan playing a crucial role in the build up.

However, this would be the reds last score for twenty eight minutes and Daingean finished the half the stronger by leveling the game, scoring a goal in the twenty seventh minute.

Half Time:
Edenderry 2-1 1-4

The second half of this game will live long in the memory but for all the wrong reasons as both sides only managed a point each in what was a dreadful display of football. Dan Ryan pointed for Edenderry in the thirteenth minute to give the reds the lead but Daingean responded in the twentieth minute to level the sides once again. 

This was a very poor game and Edenderry will have to improve to no end if they are to start picking up points in this league campaign. While not all the play was terrible, the final ball to the forwards was shockingly poor.

The game was well refereed by Martin Cathy.

Referee: Martin Cathy (Walsh Island)

Team Sheet:
Ciaran Cummins, Stephen Abbott, Johnny Blong, Padraig Foy, Stephen Murphy, Colin McNamara, Jason Farrell, Cian Lawton, Philip Farrell, Adrian Farrell, Sean Og Farrell, Pat Moloney, John Gorman(1-0), Dan Ryan(1-1), Jamie Dolan(0-1)

Subs: Ross Mangan for Pat Moloney, Matthew O'Grady for Adrian Farrell.