News‎ > ‎

Golf society Update

posted 30 Sept 2012, 05:33 by Edenderry GAA   [ updated 1 Oct 2012, 04:42 ]

Edenderry  GAA  Golf  Society Report 29/09/12

The Edenderry GAA Golf Society (captain Niall Comerford) held their fourth and final outing of the year on Saturday last September 29th in the nearby Moyvalley Golf and Country Club. The course designed by Darren Clarke was in magnificent shape helped by the beautiful sunshine on the day and brought out the best in our golfers (of which there was a very healthy 22 in all) particularly those who were chasing the coveted player of the year award. With the conditions so good it was always going to take a top class round to come out on top and so it proved with club legend and current senior football selector Finbarr Cullen winning it with a magnificent 39 points, well done to Finbarr. There was a great battle for second place with four players finishing on 38 points, Seanie Farrell, Greg Blong, Noel Cribben and Sean Burke. After the countback it was Seanie who took second with the other 3 boys all taking their classes. The front and back nine went to two society stalwarts with Fergal Brereton taking the front and the legendary Peter Brady taking the back nine. The player of the year also ended up being a very close affair in the end with the maturity overtaking the youth in the final tallies with Noel Cribben edging it from Seanie Farrell and Kevin Guing with Jamie Dolan and Ciaran Farrell completing our top five. The youth were represented in the winners enclosure by Alex Kenny who won our nearest the pin competition. Well done to all the winners and all who took part on the day.


The full results were:

First: Finbarr Cullen 39 points.   Second: Seanie Farrell 38 points  

Class A: Noel Cribben 38 points   Class B: Greg Blong 38 points    Class C: Sean Burke 38 points

Front Nine: Fergal Brereton 19 points        Back Nine: Peter Brady 22 points                  

Nearest the Pin:                                  Alex Kenny

Player of the Year 2012:                Noel Cribben

Spot Prize Winner                              Greg Farrelly

We say a big thank you to our sponsors on the day Mary and Marie Fashions, Freddie Grehan (sponsor of player of the year award) and our main sponsor Eugene Byrne. The presentation of prizes and the society’s last night of revelry was held in Byrnes on Saturday and lasted into the small hours once again As the curtain closed on another season society captain Niall Comerford thanked a number of people who made the season a great success.  To last year’s captain Ken Corcoran, all the players young and old who made the effort during the year, our sponsors without whom we could not survive, to the wonderful hard working committee members who worked diligently throughout the year and last but not least the wonderful President of our society Mickey Brady who will remain as president for 2013. Niall also announced that the Captain for 2013 will be well known town commissioner and the society’s 2012 player of the year Noel Cribben. We say well done to Niall on a great year and send our congratulations to Noel and wish him every success in his role next year.