News‎ > ‎

Best of luck to Offaly seniors

posted 17 Jan 2020, 01:09 by Edenderry GAA

Offaly senior footballers take on Longford on Saturday at 2.45pm in Bord Na Mona O'Connor Park as the faithful county bid to win their 7th ever O'Byrne Cup.

Offaly last won the competition when they put back to back titles in 1997 & 1998 overcoming Wexford 4-13 0-5 and Louth 4-7 2-7 respectively. 

It is only the second time these two counties will meet in the final with Offaly overcoming Longford in the 1961 final 1-9 0-6, Edenderry's legendary duo Mick Brady and Tommy Cullen staring at centre back and left half forward on that occasion.

This Saturday the reds will be represented by Jordan Hayes, Cian Farrell and Mark Abbott while '93, '97 & '98 O'Byrne Cup winner Kevin Guing forms part of John Maughan's management team.

Best of luck to all involved.